China travel agency
Top 10 China Tours
China tour packages
scenic China tours
China photography tours
Beijing tours
China tour to Guilin
China travel Yunnan
Yangtze River Cruise
China tour to Guizhou
China tours to Sichuan Chengdu
Silk Road tour
China travel to Tibet Lhasa
China city tours
China city guide
China travel tips

Home >> China City Guide >> Gansu Province

Gansu Province

Northwest China Province on the upper reaches of the Yellow River .
455, 000 sq km
Gansu has a temperate monsoon climate with the marked transitional characteristics of a continental climate. It has an annual temperature of 0° - 15° C, with great difference between north and south, and an annual precipitation of 50-800 mm, decreasing from southeast to northwest.
provincial capital:
24.67 millions (March 2001)
Ethnic groups:
Han, Hui, Tibetan, Mongol and eight other ethnic groups.
Major Cities:
Dunhuang; Jiayuguan.
The grassland in Gansu Province is the fifth biggest in China. Growing in the Loess Highland are mostly wheat, maize, millet, cotton and linseed. The area around Lanzhou is a melon and fruit producer famous for its Bailan melons. Its main livestock includes pigs, sheep, cattle and horses.
Gansu has more than 60 types of minerals, the best-known being nickel, copper, lead and zinc. Jinchang is the country's leading nickel producer. Iron, Chromium, tungsten, mercury, and antimony are found in a number of areas. Yumen and Changqing are sizable oilfields. The province is also rich in coal, troilite, cement, limestone, gypsum, mirabilite and fluorite.
China Provinces
Anhui Province
Beijing Municipality
Chongqing Municipality
Fujian Province
Gansu Province
Guangdong Province
Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region
Guizhou Province
Hainan Province
Hebei Province
Heilongjiang Province
Henan Province
Hong Kong
Hubei Province
Hunan Province
Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region
Jiangsu Province
Jiangxi Province
Jilin Province
Liaoning Province
Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region
Qinghai Province
Shaanxi Province
Shandong Province
Shanghai Municipality
Shanxi Province
Sichuan Province
Tianjin Municipality
Tibet Autonomous Region
Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region
Zhejiang Province
Contact Us | About Us | Terms And Conditions | Home, All rights reserved