China travel agency
Top 10 China Tours
China tour packages
scenic China tours
China photography tours
Beijing tours
China tour to Guilin
China travel Yunnan
Yangtze River Cruise
China tour to Guizhou
China tours to Sichuan Chengdu
Silk Road tour
China travel to Tibet Lhasa
China city tours
China city guide
China travel tips

Home >> China City Guide >> shaanxi Province

Shaanxi Province

shaanxi Province

Situated on the Northwest China Loess highland, this province on the middle reaches of the Yellow River.
206,000 sq km
shaanxi has a continental monsoonal climate, with great difference between the areas north and south of the Qinling range. It has a mean annual temperature of 6¡ã£­16¡ã, increasing from north to south, and a mean annual precipitation less in the north than in the south: 340-600 mm in northern shaanxi, 570-700 mm in the Guanzhong Plain and 800-1,210 mm in southern shaanxi.
provincial capital:
36.05 millions (March 2001)
Ethnic groups:
Han, Hui, Man,Zhuang, Tibetan, Mongol other ethnic groups.
Major Cities:
Northern shaanxi is a farming-pastoral area growing millet, broom corn millet and sheep, and contains vast areas for developing forestry and animal husbandry. The Guanzhong Plain with its long reclamation history and highly developed agriculture is one of China's best-known wheat and cotton growers. It is also famous for its cattle and donkeys.
Mineral deposits, including coal, mercury, molybdenum, gold and more than 80 kinds of other minerals have been discovered in the province. The Shenmu and Fugu coal fields in northern shaanxi have a total reserve of more than 160 billion tons of quality coal containing extra low sulfur, phosphorous and ash contents. A huge reserve of natural gas has also been found in the province.
China Provinces
Anhui Province
Beijing Municipality
Chongqing Municipality
Fujian Province
Gansu Province
Guangdong Province
Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region
Guizhou Province
Hainan Province
Hebei Province
Heilongjiang Province
Henan Province
Hong Kong
Hubei Province
Hunan Province
Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region
Jiangsu Province
Jiangxi Province
Jilin Province
Liaoning Province
Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region
Qinghai Province
Shaanxi Province
Shandong Province
Shanghai Municipality
Shanxi Province
Sichuan Province
Tianjin Municipality
Tibet Autonomous Region
Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region
Zhejiang Province
Contact Us | About Us | Terms And Conditions | Home, All rights reserved