China travel agency
Top 10 China Tours
China tour packages
scenic China tours
China photography tours
Beijing tours
China tour to Guilin
China travel Yunnan
Yangtze River Cruise
China tour to Guizhou
China tours to Sichuan Chengdu
Silk Road tour
China travel to Tibet Lhasa
China city tours
China city guide
China travel tips

Home >> China City Guide >> Shanxi Province

Shanxi Province


Situated along the middle reaches of the Yellow River in the western part of the region known as North China
156,000 square kilometers
It gases a mild continental climate with four distinct seasons awash in sunlight. The annual average temperature ranges from 4¡æ to 14¡æ and annual precipitation from 400 mm to 650 mm. The frost-free season ranges from 120 to more than 220 days.
provincial capital:
32.97millions (March 2001)
Ethnic groups:
Han,Hui,Mongol,Man,etc 34 ethnic groups in Shanxi.
Major Cities:
Pingyao, Datong
Shanxi has 3,656,500 hectares of arable land, 23 percent of its area, The agricultural economy is based on farming, supplemented rice,wheat, barley, sorghum, potato, sweet poato,buckwheat,broom corn millet and beans grow in profusion. Cash crops include cotton tobacco, beets, vegetable, oil-bearing plants and hemp. Also to be found are apples, walnuts and dates and precious plants used on Chinese traditional medicine such as Codonopsis pilosula and Astragalus baicalletsis. Pigs, sheep, chicken, rabbits, cows, donkeys horses, mules, silkworm and bees are also raised.
Over the last 40 plus years, Shanxi has established a basic industrial system comprising a great variety of industries. Currently more than 12,000 industrial enterprises are in operation. Coal and electric power form the backbone of industry of Shanxi.
China Provinces
Anhui Province
Beijing Municipality
Chongqing Municipality
Fujian Province
Gansu Province
Guangdong Province
Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region
Guizhou Province
Hainan Province
Hebei Province
Heilongjiang Province
Henan Province
Hong Kong
Hubei Province
Hunan Province
Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region
Jiangsu Province
Jiangxi Province
Jilin Province
Liaoning Province
Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region
Qinghai Province
Shaanxi Province
Shandong Province
Shanghai Municipality
Shanxi Province
Sichuan Province
Tianjin Municipality
Tibet Autonomous Region
Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region
Zhejiang Province
Contact Us | About Us | Terms And Conditions | Home, All rights reserved